Rivanna Trails

Trail Adopters

One of the important services that some special RTF members provide is to adopt a section of the Rivanna Trail. Trail Adopters walk their section periodically, clip vines and roses, mow grass, pick up branches, make minor repairs, and generally keep the trail open.

They are also our primary "eyes on the Trail" for reporting major washouts, blowdowns, and other serious problems. We are grateful to the following individuals for helping with this very important task. When possible we also assign multiple adopters to a single section, so if the segment of the trail of particular interest to you is already adopted, we can designate you a co-adopter.

If you would like to become a member of this elite group and adopt a section of the Rivanna Trail as your very own, take a look at the sections listed below and contact us at bzdhill@gmail.com.

For more information on what being a trail adopter entails, please review our Trail Adopter guidelines (pdf). We'd love to hear from you!


Section Adopter Email address
Loop Around the City



Mouth of Moores Creek to Free Bridge  Chris Anderson coaoak@gmail.com
Riverview Park to VFW

Anna Haupt;
Judy Johnson

annahaupt20@hotmail.com;

renaissancewomyn@gmail.com

VFW (roadwalk) to Megan Court (then trail) to Holmes Avenue

David Hirschman; Jody and Jeffrey Hesler; Bob Brickhouse

dhirschman07@gmail.com; jeffrey.hesler@gmail.com; jody.hesler@gmail.com; rcbrickhouse@gmail.com

Holmes Avenue to Melbourne Road

Gregory Edwards;
Julie Bach; Bob Brickhouse

margaretgreg@gmail.com; juliebach13@gmail.com;

rcbrickhouse@gmail.com

Melbourne Road to Southern RR

Jackie Webber &
Marti Snell & Tim Pare
kassjac@aol.com;
snell@virginia.edu; tim.pare@cognizant.com
Melbourne Road (CHS/ McIntire Park Loop)
Jim Barns eph1969@gmail.com

Southern RR to Greenbrier Drive

Eric Scholz & Dave Henley

ericscholz@grandclassroom.com;

Greenbrier Drive to Hydraulic Road

Jeff Wilbur;
Virginia Masterson

klondike4@aol.com;
svemast@aol.com

Hydraulic Road to Emmet Street

Carl & Khabira Wise;
Marty Roddy

khabirawise@mac.com;
martyroddy@hotmail.com

Emmet/Earhart to Cedars Court/Barracks Road

Toine Wyckoff;
Dan Monahan;
Ted Heneberry

toinewyck@gmail.com;
dmonahan1948@gmail.com;
dawn.heneberry@gmail.com
Barracks Road to Sandridge Road

Dan Monahan;
Ted Heneberry;              Joel Hood

dmonahan1948@gmail.com;
dawn.heneberry@gmail.com;      joel.w.hood@outlook.com
Sandridge Road to Old Ivy Road

Dan Monahan;
Ted Heneberry;              Joel Hood

dmonahan1948@gmail.com;
dawn.heneberry@gmail.comjoel.w.hood@outlook.com

Old Ivy Road to Fontaine Avenue

Charlottesville Area Mountain Bike Club (CAMBC)
jnlewis@arachnerd.com

Fontaine Avenue to Stribling Avenue

Steve Trumbull;
Gregg Korbon
steve@cvilleimages.com;
gkorbon@aol.com

Department of Forestry Loop

Steve Trumbull;
Gregg Korbon
steve@cvilleimages.com;
gkorbon@aol.com

Stribling Avenue to Azalea Park

Carlos Armengol;
Alex Colegrove; Lucas Lyons

cea4p@virginia.edu; alexcolegrove93@gmail.com; llyons@gmail.com 

Azalea Park to 5th Street

Tom Benedetto;
Tom Saielli

tombenedetto47@yahoo.com;
tomsaielli@gmail.com

5th Street to Harris Road

Austin Robey and Jeff Rominger;
Megan Donovan;
Andrew Breen

austinrobey@yahoo.com;
megan.ml.donovan@gmail.com;
abreen17@hotmail.com

Harris Road to Avon Street

Austin Robey and Jeff Rominger;
Megan Donovan;
Andrew Breen

austinrobey@yahoo.com; megan.ml.donovan@gmail.com;
abreen17@hotmail.com

Avon Street to Quarry Park

Andrew Montgomery;

Jeff Pacelli; Shannon Sahs

andrew@montgomerytownsend.com;
jeff.pacelli@gmail.com; shannonsahs@gmail.com

Rt 20 to Woolen Mills

Kenny Neal;
Snowden Kindler

NeoGeek83@gmail.com;
SnowdenKindler@gmail.com
River North Trails


Meadow Creek to Pen Park Lane

Keith Cain; Bob Brickhouse

caindog52@gmail.comrcbrickhouse@gmail.com

Pen Park Lane to River Run

Clint Miller;
Tommy Safranek

clm104@gmail.com;
thomas.r.safranek@gmail.com
River Run and Dunlora Dunlora Trail Committee - John Holden & Tom Harvey runningwithantlers@gmail.com
Belvedere Leigh & Jim Surdukowski;
Jesse & Carole Todd

lsurdukowski@gmail.com;
jtoddjr@gmail.com