Rivanna Trails

Trail Adopters

One of the important services that some special RTF members provide is to adopt a section of the Rivanna Trail. Trail Adopters walk their section periodically, clip vines and roses, mow grass, pick up branches, make minor repairs, and generally keep the trail open.

They are also our primary "eyes on the Trail" for reporting major washouts, blowdowns, and other serious problems. We are grateful to the following individuals for helping with this very important task. When possible we also assign multiple adopters to a single section, so if the segment of the trail of particular interest to you is already adopted, we can designate you a co-adopter.

If you would like to become a member of this elite group and adopt a section of the Rivanna Trail as your very own, take a look at the sections listed below and contact us at rivannatrails@gmail.com.

For more information on what being a trail adopter entails, please review our Trail Adopter guidelines (pdf). We'd love to hear from you!


Section Adopter Email address
Loop Around the City



Mouth of Moores Creek to Free Bridge


Chris Anderson
treeleaf68@yahoo.com

Riverview Park to VFW

Report problems to City

gensic@charlottesville.org
VFW to Holmes Avenue

John Potter and the Locust Grove Neighborhood Association

john@argon.org

Holmes Avenue to Melbourne Road

Spencer Pushard and the Woodhaven Neighborhood Association
pushardspencer@yahoo.com

Melbourne Road to Southern RR

Jackie Webber & Marti Snell
kassjac@aol.com
snell@virginia.edu
Melbourne Road (CHS/ McIntire Park Loop)

Jim Barns eph1969@gmail.com
CHS to Meadowbrook Heights Road Spur

Charlottesville High School Boys and Girls Cross Country teams c/o rivannatrails@gmail.com

Southern RR to Greenbrier Drive

Eric Sholz and Dave Henley

ericscholz@grandclassroom.com

Greenbrier Drive to Hydraulic Road

Jeff Wilbur
Steve Russell
klondike4@aol.com
steverussell@comcast.net

Hydraulic Road to Emmet Street

Carl & Khabira Wise
Marty Roddy

khabirawise@mac.com
martyroddy@hotmail.com

Emmet/Earhart to Cedars Court/Barracks Road

Toine Wyckoff
toinewyck@gmail.com
Barracks Road to Sandridge Road

Andrew McCann;
Covenant School Cross Country Team;
John Kirkland
avm2897@gmail.com;
CSCC: cortland.conner@gmail.com;
john.kirkland@tasc.com
Sandridge Road to Old Ivy Road

Dan Monahan
Karen Siegrist
Ted Heneberry

dmonahan@albemarle.org
kasiegrist@hotmail.com

Old Ivy Road to Fontaine Avenue

CRC/CTRC
Genevieve Zanoff
otterg@gmail.com

Fontaine Avenue to Stribling Avenue

Jay Endahl
jendahl@nationaloptronics.com

Department of Forestry Loop

Jay Endahl
jendahl@nationaloptronics.com

Sunset Avenue to McElroy

Judy Thomas
jthomas@virginia.edu

Azalea Park to 5th Street

Tom Benedetto
tbenedetto@mayerelectric.com

5th Street to Harris Street

Unadopted rivannatrails@gmail.com
Harris Street to Jordan Park

Liz Montgomery
Judy Bartlett

maryeliz@rlc.net

Jordan Park to Avon Street

Paula Candler (The Healing Studio)
paula_candler@msn.com

Avon Street to Quarry Park

Laura Conklin (IronWolf Training);
Paula Candler
ironwolftraining@gmail.com;
paula_candler@msn.com
Quarry Park to Moores Creek/Rt 20

The Belmont Neighborhood Association

c/o rivannatrails@gmail.com
Rt 20 to Woolen Mills
Kenny Neal;
Laura Conklin;
Paula Candler
NeoGeek83@gmail.com;
ironwolftraining@gmail.com;
paula_candler@msn.com
River North Trails



Meadow Creek to Pen Park Lane
The Joint Enlisted Council - Rivanna Station Chad.Moreau@dia.mil
Pen Park Lane to River Run

Report problems to City gensic@charlottesville.org
River Run and Dunlora Dunlora Trail Committee John Holden & Tom Harvey runningwithantlers@gmail.com
Belvedere Leigh and Jim Surdukowski lsurdukowski@gmail.com