Rivanna Trails

Trail Adopters

One of the important services that some special RTF members provide is to adopt a section of the Rivanna Trail. Trail Adopters walk their section periodically, clip vines and roses, mow grass, pick up branches, make minor repairs, and generally keep the trail open.

They are also our primary "eyes on the Trail" for reporting major washouts, blowdowns, and other serious problems. We are grateful to the following individuals for helping with this very important task. When possible we also assign multiple adopters to a single section, so if the segment of the trail of particular interest to you is already adopted, we can designate you a co-adopter.

If you would like to become a member of this elite group and adopt a section of the Rivanna Trail as your very own, take a look at the sections listed below and contact us at bzdhill@gmail.com.

For more information on what being a trail adopter entails, please review our Trail Adopter guidelines (pdf). We'd love to hear from you!


Section Adopter Email address
Loop Around the City



Mouth of Moores Creek to Free Bridge  Chris Anderson coaoak@gmail.com
Riverview Park to VFW

Anna Haupt;
Judy Johnson;
Bob Brickhouse

annahaupt20@hotmail.com;

renaissancewomyn@gmail.com; brickhouse1408@embarqmail.com

VFW to Holmes Avenue

Locust Grove Neighborhood Association (David Hirschman)

dhirschman07@gmail.com

Holmes Avenue to Melbourne Road

Ralph Lewis;
Gregory Edwards;
Julie Bach

ralph.lewis@ymail.com; margaretgreg@gmail.com; juliebach13@gmail.com

Melbourne Road to Southern RR

Jackie Webber &
Marti Snell
kassjac@aol.com;
snell@virginia.edu
Melbourne Road (CHS/ McIntire Park Loop)
Jim Barns eph1969@gmail.com
CHS to Meadowbrook Heights Road Spur
Charlottesville High School Boys and Girls Cross Country teams c/o rivannatrails@gmail.com

Southern RR to Greenbrier Drive

Eric Scholz & Dave Henley;
Jerry Carchedi

ericscholz@grandclassroom.com;

falcon4880@gmail.com

Greenbrier Drive to Hydraulic Road

Jeff Wilbur
klondike4@aol.com

Hydraulic Road to Emmet Street

Carl & Khabira Wise;
Marty Roddy

khabirawise@mac.com;
martyroddy@hotmail.com

Emmet/Earhart to Cedars Court/Barracks Road

Toine Wyckoff;
Dan Monahan;
Ted Heneberry

toinewyck@gmail.com;
dmonahan1948@gmail.com
Barracks Road to Sandridge Road

Randall Kiltall;
Dan Monahan;
Ted Heneberry

shockhammer13@gmail.com;
dmonahan1948@gmail.com
Sandridge Road to Old Ivy Road

Dan Monahan;
Ted Heneberry

dmonahan1948@gmail.com

Old Ivy Road to Fontaine Avenue

Charlottesville Area Mountain Bike Club (CAMBC)
jnlewis@arachnerd.com

Fontaine Avenue to Stribling Avenue

Steve Trumbull;
Gregg Korbon
steve@cvilleimages.com;
gkorbon@aol.com

Department of Forestry Loop

Steve Trumbull;
Gregg Korbon
steve@cvilleimages.com;
gkorbon@aol.com

Stribling Avenue to Azalea Park

Judy Thomas;
Carlos Armengol
jthomas@virginia.edu;
cea4p@virginia.edu

Azalea Park to 5th Street

Tom Benedetto; Tom Saielli

tombenedetto47@yahoo.com; tomsaielli@gmail.com 

5th Street to Harris Road

Matt Smythe;
Austin Robey and Jeff Rominger;
Megan Donovan;
Andrew Breen

smythe-matthew@aramark.com; austinrobey@yahoo.com;

megan.ml.donovan@gmail.com; abreen17@hotmail.com

Harris Road to Avon Street

Matt Smythe;
Austin Robey and Jeff Rominger;
Megan Donovan;
Andrew Breen

smythe-matthew@aramark.com;
austinrobey@yahoo.com;

megan.ml.donovan@gmail.com; abreen17@hotmail.com

Avon Street to Quarry Park

Andrew Montgomery;
Jeff Pacelli

andrew@montgomerytownsend.com;
jeff.pacelli@gmail.com

Quarry Park to Moores Creek/Rt 20

The Belmont-Carlton Neighborhood Association

BelmontCarlton@gmail.com
Rt 20 to Woolen Mills
Kenny Neal; looking for help (contact bzdhill@gmail.com) NeoGeek83@gmail.com
Free State (aka River North) Trails



Meadow Creek to Pen Park Lane

Chick Dassance;
Keith Cain

chick1945@gmail.com;
caindog52@gmail.com

Pen Park Lane to River Run

Clint Miller;
Tommy Safranek

clm104@gmail.com;
thomas.r.safranek@gmail.com
River Run and Dunlora Dunlora Trail Committee - John Holden & Tom Harvey runningwithantlers@gmail.com
Belvedere Leigh & Jim Surdukowski;
Jesse & Carole Todd

lsurdukowski@gmail.com;

jtoddjr@gmail.com